in which stars shine

Hello, world.

(Another late post, I know. Life gets kind of busy sometimes and takes away the time I’d like to spend here.)

So, we live in a world where there are a lot of book-to-movie adaptations. More specifically, we live in a world there are a lot of terrible book-to-movie adaptations. However, in the universe of horrid films, there are a few shining stars that burst through the hazy darkness.

And speaking of stars …

DAY 19: MY FAVORITE BOOK TURNED INTO A MOVIE

Goodreads summary (for the book):

Young Tristran Thorn will do anything to win the cold heart of beautiful Victoria—even fetch her the star they watch fall from the night sky. But to do so, he must enter the unexplored lands on the other side of the ancient wall that gives their tiny village its name. Beyond that old stone wall, Tristran learns, lies Faerie—where nothing, not even a fallen star, is what he imagined.

From #1 New York Times bestselling author Neil Gaiman comes a remarkable quest into the dark and miraculous—in pursuit of love and the utterly impossible.

While there are other beautiful and classic book adaptations I could have chosen (To Kill a Mockingbird and Lord of the Rings, for example), I really, really adore this movie. In some ways, I enjoy more than the book itself–which is a rare and almost alarming thing. More than anything, though, I just love the fairy tale, the otherworldly feeling that surrounds it.

Here is a nicely compiled list of reasons why I love the movie:

1. The casting is A+: you’ve got Robert de Niro, Michelle Pfeiffer, and a baby Charlie Cox. What more do you need?

2. Speaking of which, Charlie Cox (Trist[r]an Thorn) is the original cinnamon roll. He’s awkward and bumbling and charming and lovely–everything Trist(r)an needs to be.

Stardust - Actually, Tristan, it's called a Babylon Candle.

3. The cinematography is so lovely and it’s just a really pretty film to watch. (Matthew Vaughn did such a nice job with it.)

4. I love what the movie did with all the characters. I love the dynamic between Tristan and Yvaine, the dead princes of Stormhold, even little Bernard the sometimes goat. With any movie, there are many aspects that can be lost from the characters, but overall, I feel the movie does them good justice.

5. The humor is 10/10 would laugh again.

6. The faerie world setting is so perfect. I wish that a faerieland lay over the wall in my hometown, but, alas, I think all you’d find here was orange peels and graffiti.

(6.5. It also takes place during Victorian England, also known as my favorite historical and geographical era of all time, so there’s that.)

7. The ending makes me very happy. The end varies quite a bit from the book, but I actually rather prefer the movie version. What can I say? I’m a sucker for sappy love stories.

If you haven’t read or watched Stardust, I highly encourage you do to both. It’s a really the loveliest little fae story you’ll ever find. And though I might like the movie a little bit more, the novel is still a gem. (It’s written by Neil Gaiman, so how could it not be?)

yours, Natalie

Tune in tomorrow at noon for the next post!

 

 

Leave a Reply

