in which i am both “happy and sad”

Hello, world.

I love quotes. I love reading them and writing them and memorizing them until they have been impressed onto my own soul.

I love discovering those quotes that seem to have emerged from my very heart.

DAY 17: MY FAVORITE QUOTE

So, this is my life. And I want you to know that I am both happy and sad and I’m still trying to figure out how that could be.

Stephen Chbosky, The Perks of Being a Wallflower

This quote has resonated with me from the moment I read it. It captures so easily how I have felt my entire life–happy yet sad, this odd combination of seemingly opposing emotions. I have a sensitive, melancholy soul, I think, and when I feel, I feel entirely. I rarely feel one emotion at a time–I am a torrent of things, but I cannot imagine feeling one without the other. Somehow, in my heart, they fit together, and I’m not sure why.

So, this is my life.

yours, Natalie

Leave a comment